Lessons on Life: Sleep is for Suckers

On a Wednesday night, May 30, 2012 I struggled with going to sleep as I worked on various projects that I needed to get done or least start work on, however sleep won. Still in the back of my mind I felt I should keep going, but I didn’t I just gave myself the same old speech, “oh I will get to it tomorrow, it will get done eventually.” Off to bed I went.

The next morning for a divine reason I believe, I picked up my phone and went to Twitter to all I could see is people tweeting and retweeting about Eric Thomas (@ericthomasbtc) new video, How bad do you want it Part 2, I had seen part 1, but this one also was creating quite a buzz as well. After looking at the video again I was amazed I retweeted the information about the video and then I headed to Eric Thomas’ twitter page where I then saw the @Sleepis4Suckers and that it was created as a brand and clothing line by David Shand who had also created a video explaining the concept of Sleep is 4 Suckers clothing line, I didn’t know it then, but life as I knew it was about to change and that last night’s struggle between staying up late and going to bed was about to be over.

Ever since that day I have been more productive, and I have been getting things done a lot quicker. It is amazing what your body can do when you set your mind to it. I used to do this I was the type of person who pushed my body to the very limit, but I had gotten out of the flow trying to save myself and my body, because I had gotten sick a couple of times and guess what fear has set in, but guess getting those extra hours of sleep wasn’t enough. I am reminded of Matthew 16:25, “For whosever will save his life, shall lose it: and whosever will lose his life for my sake shall find it.” I totally believe this all the way round, especially if your goals and dreams, in your pursuit to be successful is Christ centered; If you take a leap of faith the world is yours .

Yeah going to bed on time getting that sleep it still allowed me to get a few things done I was able to get things done just in the nick of time, but staying up late and getting up early I already know that it has put me ahead of the game. I have seen such a difference in my work flow. It has also allowed me to step out of my fears of; Can I do this? Can I get this done? How will I get it done?

There is a project I’m working on now (will discuss later), I can honestly tell you before watching the How bad do you want it? Part 2 and Sleep is 4 Suckers videos, the thought process of the project seemed to be just swimming in my head, but after I started really grinding and actually working diligently on it, it started coming together more smoother and it seemed as if the concept of the project and ideas started to flow.

There was a part of the How Bad Do You Want It, Part 2 video Eric Thomas was saying to his class that you should only go to parties as a reward not because you want to go. That was a life altering statement for me. I began to have this whole conversation with myself as how dare you sleep 8 hours or slack off, and you have not made it yet, why are you taking it easy when you have so much to accomplish?

I encourage anyone to dig in on this lifestyle and go for yours. If you have dreams that you are going for or working on, go hard don’t let sleep, friends, people, or even family discourage you from going hard in what you want. I have found the longer you let something linger that harder it is to get it accomplish. The longer you play around with an idea the more room you allow for fear and the mindset of failure to settle in. Go Hard! How bad do you want it because sleep is for suckers!

Here is the video for How bad do you want it part 2:

Here is the video for Sleep is 4 Suckers:

Blessings,

Endia

About endiadavis

My name is Endia Davis, I am from a small town in Florida called Palatka. I am a Military Veteran, a Certified Transformational Life Coach. I am here trying to make my mark in the world. My heart's desire is to make an impact on someone's life. One life at a time.
This entry was posted in Lessons on Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

