Father’s Day: Missing My Father

Happy Father’s Day to the man that I love and adore, because of you and my mother’s union I was birthed and brought into this world to make a difference. I have never met you, but you hold a special place in my heart, Why? Without you, my being here would not be possible.

His name is William and I was born on December 18, 1981, my father was not around. He did however get to see a photograph of me and he even gave me a nickname Mickey, for my middle name Michelle. It was not long afterwards my father got into trouble and was sent to prison. A prison record with no photo was the only thing I have ever found of him.

I still remember I was somewhere between the ages of six and eight when you called me, out the clear blue sky, the reason my mom later told me why she always kept our phone number published in the phone book, so that you could reach us. I can still remember your voice, I remember you telling me that you were coming to see me and that you loved me, and I believed you and I still do. I believe that you had every intention of coming to see me, but something came up. What? I don’t know.

There were many days I shed tears as to why you were not in my life, there were days I could not understand why you said those things to me and you did not keep your promise, but over the years I have learned to let those tears go and to never allow bitterness to come, because no matter what you are my father.

Growing up I just knew you were somewhere watching me that you were keeping tabs on me, walking home from the school bus stop I looked around to see if maybe you were standing around somewhere maybe to introduce yourself to me, but it never came to past.

Do I hold resentment in my heart? The answer is NO! You are the one that God chose to bring me into this world, and that fact that I know that I serve a perfect God comforts me that He never makes mistakes, He loves me too much too hurt me, because He is my Heavenly Father.

To my father William I love you, hopefully we will meet one day, but this one thing I know you will always be my father and God chose you to be my Father and knowing that is enough, Happy Father’s Day.

Blessings,

Endia

About endiadavis

My name is Endia Davis, I am from a small town in Florida called Palatka. I am a Military Veteran, a Certified Transformational Life Coach. I am here trying to make my mark in the world. My heart's desire is to make an impact on someone's life. One life at a time.
This entry was posted in Father's Day, Life, My Journey and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

