Monday Motivation: Cherish Your Life!

Blee

Cherish-those-you-have-in-your-Life.jpg

In August 2014, I met a woman that I will call Ms. D she was of the mature age crowd. She was beautiful, bright and full of life. We were both taking a certification class in Life Coaching. Ms. D had the greatest sense of humor ever. She kept myself and another young woman laughing throughout the entire class. Classes would began once a month for 4 months on a Friday night. Myself being half her age, would come in tired and wore out from the work week. Not Ms. D, she would come in with fancy attire and shoes, she also had worked the entire week (although she was nearing retirement), but she came in full of joy and zest. I would ask, “where are you going?” Ms. D would reply in the most sassy voice, “I’m going dancing.” I would be so shocked because not only was I already tired, I would definitely be tired after class that night.

Nevertheless, we had come at the end of the certification class, all of us with such a strong bond, however I was quite fond of Ms. D. She reminded me of my grandmother in so many ways, but she also had so much spunk and zest for life. We graduated from class in December, so during I had flew my mom to Washington State to visit me for the holidays, I had informed Ms. D of this and she wanted to meet my mom and I was so excited because I truly wanted her to meet my mom as well.

“Cherish all your happy moments: they make a fine cushion for old age.” ~Picturequotes

The day came for Ms. D to meet my mom and it was great, we had a great time. Out of this lunch meeting, Ms. D invited me to a monthly game of Bunco (link to game instructions, so fun!) with her and her friends. These ladies meet every month  to play this game of fun. I later discovered they had been meeting for about 40 years. They originally started meeting as a way to go out and bring there kids so they can have fun without having to worry about childcare. Needless to say these kids are now grown adults with their own spouses and kids.

Never in a million years, I would have thought these women would have the impact that they have had on me. Let me remind you that these women are  in their 50-60s. Full of zest, life, and spunk. They have the greatest sense of humor and smart mouths with lots of sarcasm, but I love every moment. Sometimes I even forget that these women are in their 50-60s until certain conversations of life and death come up. This past Saturday was a great reminder, the host for this month she was very tired and wore out, she was so tired that she was stumbling when she walked. It was a reminder that these women were not as young as I am. Their tired is different from my tired.

Last month one of the ladies made mentioned how she would be turning 65, and another made a comment, “yes, I have more years behind me than I do ahead.” This was like a electric shock went through my mind. It reminded me that death is imminent, however so is life. It was a reminder to enjoy each day that I have. We only get one life, it is up to us how we live it. We will all grow old in years and we must all one day consider our last days, however it is up to us how we spend our days and years. The ladies have taught me so much, but most importantly to enjoy the life I have and to live and experience life because there will become a time that all my years will just be a reflection of memories. When I am their age I too want to continue to create memories, but I want to be able to say I have lived and cherished the life that I have had.

Blessings xoxoxo,

Endia

 

About endiadavis

My name is Endia Davis, I am from a small town in Florida called Palatka. I am a Military Veteran, a Certified Transformational Life Coach. I am here trying to make my mark in the world. My heart's desire is to make an impact on someone's life. One life at a time.
This entry was posted in Monday Mornivation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

